Doing what you love

Over the years I have heard it said so many times: “Do what you love, love what you do.”  I always wanted to believe it but the realist in me (and my lack of self confidence) always gave me the practical turn around. I avoided many situations, settled for the easy way or what seemed safe and practical. I do not live with regret. Contrary, I have many amazing tales. Nonetheless, I know, without a doubt, I made many choices towards the safe side.  Sadly,  a lot of major life choices where made before I was saved. Some of these seemed safe or good but really where emotion based, fear based, or the worst, selfish.

After I was baptized, I would love to say I made amazing choices and live wonderful carefree life! Nope. I have had to overcome a lot of things. One, the situation I was in when I final made the choice to give my life to God. It did not magically change. God worked amazing things though, and I could see His hand and blessings through ever turn and dark place. As I move from the valley of the lows and wrong choices, my bigger challenge is learning to make choices based on what God wants. I am willing. I want to be living a God driven life. I am starting to see that living for God does not mean you will be working a miserable job, being a doormat for others, nor being stuck doing stuff you hate. NOT AT ALL! The beautiful thing is God made you to be YOU! Because He wants to use you and Loves you as He created YOU!

What does that mean?! For me  it is an act of faith. I want to live , worship, and serve God. Currently, I am working a job where I feel important but it is not my greatest passion. However, I can see it as a stepping stone. I know that I am learning to trust God with things that are stepping stones. Daily I am learning skills I need for the job I really want. I also gave my love of dancing over to God. In doing so, the doors are opening , my skills are improving, and I am dancing! Which is amazing. It is the only time I feel free  and I feel closer to God. Give to God what you love. Do what you Love, but do it for God not for fame or the world. Do what you love and you will feel God. You will feel God because you are giving your best to Him. A great act of love and worship!

Psalm: 37:4

New Living Translation
Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you your heart’s desires.

King James Bible
Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Darby Bible Translation
and delight thyself in Jehovah, and he will give thee the desires of thy heart.

World English Bible
Also delight yourself in Yahweh, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

 

Leave a Reply

